Happiness Project Week 7

The whole point of a Happiness Project is to become a happier person, right? This month as many of you know I am working towards being happier at my 9-5 job and with what I create. This isn’t as easy as I thought it was going to be. I have moments where I am completely happy at work and others where I want to rip my hair out. I am on the precipice where I really want to be grateful that I even have a job and why should I be stuck doing something for 40 hours a week that I am not passionate about.

This has created some interesting thoughts in my head. On Friday I couldn’t wait to leave for the weekend because I had so much fun stuff planned and I just wanted to get on with it! That was 8 hours of not enjoying the moment but thinking of things to come. I am so sick of doing that. I don’t want to just work for the weekend. I want to enjoy my week as well. I can’t do my passion for my career but I can enjoy my time dammit!

So here comes my little craft project. I have a cubicle just like thousands of other people in the world. Mine is actually hilarious because the office I work out of is in a converted house so technically I am in the kitchen. Anyway, I am so sick of looking at boring gray walls day in and day out.img_3601

I grabbed some random scrap paper, scissors, twine and a hole punch and made a really cute banner to hang on the wall (see directions below my friends). I also printed out some uplifting quotes and my favorite pictures. At any craft store (or even Walmart) you can get mini clothespins to use to hang up all of these happiness triggers on your walls. My thought process is that I have to spend 8 hours a day in this place. I might as well have a space that makes me feel happy and positive. Now I can just look to my right and see my motivation for why I do this job. I need to enjoy these moments because one day I will look back on this time and realize that everything happened so fast and I never got to sit down and enjoy myself.

img_3612

Cubicle Decorations

Materials

  • Scrapbook paper (or any paper you have laying around)
  • A Hole Punch
  • Scissors
  • Twine
  • A printer to print out pictures and/or quotes

I measured out the length of my cubicle and then cut out twine to that size. Then I cut out some triangles from the scrapbook paper and punched two holes at the time, threaded them onto the twin and BOOM a cute little banner that brings me way too much joy.

Underneath I just took some more twine, attached it to my cubicle walls and hung the quotes and pictures I printed out with the clothespins. This is a very and inexpensive way to  make your space fit your personal style and make it enjoyable for 8 hours.

Leave a Reply

