Food and Football

HAPPY FOOTBALL SEASON!!

I was so excited to write this blog post. Fall if my absolute favorite time of year. Not only is it when I got married, but it also represents change for me. The leaves turn colors, the clocks go back and all my favorite foods come out (yes I am one of the “everything pumpkin person” – but  am also loving things apple cider lately). Also, it is the start of football season. I was raised by a football loving family. Every Sunday (even the Sunday I got married) everyone would gather around the TV and watch the game. Now that my sister and I have both moved out of the house, we watch these games while on the phone yelling at the TV, because you know that football players can hear you.

This year I wanted to have my parents over for the first game to kind of celebrate my Dad going back to work and the fact that I believe we are finally over the slump of his heart surgery. I know my Dad and I know I would have to provide some game day snacks for him to munch on. So I did some research and came up with some healthy options for him. One was salty and the other one was sweet. I thought it would be a nice balance for him. I was so happy to be able to provide something healthy for him. I know this journey is hard on him and he is used to watching the game with a beer in one hand and a bowl of chips and pretzels with cheese in the other. He still had that beer (who would have ever thought my Dad would be drinking light beer) and he still got some cheese!

Apple Cookiesimg_3562

  • Granny Smith Apples (or really any apple of your choosing)
  • Almond or Peanut Butter
  • Toppings: nuts, chocolate chips, coconut etc…

Core and slice thickly the apple. Place them on a plate and cover with your choice of nut butter and toppings. This is such an easy snack and it is so delicious.

Cuban Stackers

  • Low Sodium Ham
  • Dill Picklesimg_3563
  • Swiss Cheese

You will need some toothpicks for this one. All I did was cut some swiss cheese into cubes and the dill pickles into chunks. Then I stacked everything on a toothpick and that was it! So easy and you honestly do miss the bread on this one. I had some mustard to dip but you can really eat these plain.

img_3561

My journey to a healthier lifestyle has really taught me about how food brings people together. And unfortunately is can be struggles to eat right in social situations. You don’t want to be left out so you will just grab whatever everyone else is eating. I am so lucky to have supportive experience has really shown me what you can do when you put your mind to something and have an amazing support system.

Did anyone else have a get together for the beginning of football season? I would to hear about it!

Leave a Reply

