Happiness Project Week 6

This is the situation I am currently in. Let me know if it sounds familiar.

I sit behind a desk all day, answering phones and entering data into spreadsheets. While doing this my brain is going a thousand miles a minute. Blog post this and recipe idea that. I wish I could bring my laptop and on my down time get this stuff done. I can’t. So I keep a yellow tablet next to me at all times and write this shit down so I don’t forget it. I get through my day, come home and take out that tablet. I probably have at least 10 items on it. Do I do them? No. There are a million other things that i need to get done while I am at home and none of those things are on that list. Soon bed time rolls around and I start out my day all over again. Sound familiar? I am so sorry if it does.

I can’t just quit my job and blog full time. I wish I could, but it is just not in the cards for me. Until that time comes I need to better utilize my time. This month I have been reading books about creating on down time and how to find the perfect job outside of the 9-5. These books have been so eye opening. It has shown me that there are a lot of people out there who dream big. Their creative selves are stifled by their cubicles. I have one life; I will not get a redo. This past week has been about finding the extra time to be creative. I have been forcing myself to follow an amazing writing prompt by Lisa Sonora. She does these monthly and this month the theme is FIRE. The prompts really get me thinking about why I create and why it is important to be creative. There are so many times where I just say fuck it and sit and watch TV or read a book. The least I can do is be creative. Create a new dish or write a page in the novel that I keep forgetting about, work on vision boards that I have been wanting to start for a year now. I have to not let the mundane control me. So what that I have a boring job – a lot of people do. I have the time and the space to do the things that make me happy. I will look back on this time and be pissed at myself if I don’t do them.

If you have haven’t already, read Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert – it will change your life  I swear.She is so funny and just speaks the truth. She also has a podcast called Magic Lessons where she helps fellow creative souls continue on their journeys. I have been listening to her while I make dinner. She inspires me probably more than anyone else every has. Read, listen and watch what inspires you. It will make a world of difference.

Be creative in everything you do. If you want something go out and get it. That is the best advice that I can offer. No one is going to do this shit for you. You are in charge of your life. One day my friends, we will all be able to do what we want to do, not the things that we have to do.

Leave a Reply

