Mexican Night

I was sneaky this week. I love Mexican food. My family however hates it. So that means that anytime I go out I have to get a Mexican dish because it is the only time I get to have it. Well, I wanted to try something new this week and I used them as guinea pigs. My husband loved the quinoa which really surprised me. I took my favorite taco dip and stuffed it in some chicken with peppers. I then made a little avocado salad and served everything with Spanish quinoa. I was in heaven. I am pretty sure that they just tolerated it!

Taco Dip Chicken

  • 3 chicken breasts pounded into cutlets
  • 4 oz fat free cream cheese
  • 1/4 teaspoon cumin
  • 1/4 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • bell peppers (I used a mix of yellow, orange and red but you can use whatever you have. You need about 5-7 strips per chicken breast)

Take each chicken breast and pound it until you get cutlets. I used a rolling pin because that is all I had.  If you can’t do this you can just cut a pocket into each breast, same thing! Cut the peppers into strips. Mix the cream cheese and seasonings. (You can use taco seasoning from a pack but it is always a little too salty for me so I just make my own). If you are rolling the chicken spread the cream cheese onto the chicken, add the peppers and roll. If you cut a pocket just stuff everything in there. Place in a baking dish and bake at 375 for 20 minutes.

Spanish Quinoa

  • 1 cup quinoa
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • small green pepper – diced
  • small onion – diced
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 1/2 teaspoon cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon chili powder
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 15 oz can of diced tomatoes (do not drain)
  • 1 cup chicken stock
  • cilantro to taste

Soak the quinoa in warm water for 10 minutes. While you are doing that put the olive oil into a deep skillet, add the pepper and onion and seasonings. Saute until translucent. Add everything but the cilantro. Bring to a boil and then cover and turn down to simmer. Let cook about 20-25 minutes or until all the liquid is absorbed. Place the skillet off of the heat and let sit for 5 additional minutes. Fluff, add the cilantro and serve!

Avocado and Tomato Salad

  • 2 avocados
  • 2 medium tomatoes
  • 1/2 cup red onion finely diced
  • cilantro to taste
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • half of lime squeezed

Chop the avocado and tomatoes. Add the rest of the ingredients together. Let sit for about 10 minutes to marinate. Enjoy!

 

 

img_3500-1

2 thoughts on “Mexican Night

Leave a Reply

