Smoked Chicken with Scalloped Potatoes

I love carbs. I think we talked about this before.My last post was about zoodles – which has become a staple in my house. What happens though when you have a craving for carbs and a huge pot of vegetables just won’t do?

I found this awesome recipe for scalloped potatoes. I know, I know they are usually heavy in cheese and butter and cream and you feel guilty for just looking at them. Would I really give you a recipe like that? No. These scalloped potatoes are just as creamy as the ones you remember but they are so much better for you. It is all about the substitutions.This recipe only calls for 3 tablespoons of butter! I used a combination of skim milk and chicken stock for the sauce and added a bunch of garlic, thyme and onions for flavor. I also may have put in a little bit of nutmeg for some extra flavor. The cheese is low-fat and sharp so there is extra flavor along with some parmesan. Finally I added some smoked chicken for some protein. My Dad actually got me hooked on this stuff. I hate ham, I don’t know why, I just do. He found this at a local shop and bought it for me to try. I love it. It gives me a smokey flavor of ham without the dryness that I always get from the stuff.

If you follow me on Instagram (@ aheartyjourney) you saw this recipe straight out of the oven. It was bubbly and cheesy and oh so yummy. If you don’t follow me – well you should! You never know what is going to show up there. I made my meal complete with some vegetables and trust me, I was not left unsatisfied. I learned a little trick that I think you guys will find really useful. When you are eating, eat the most healthy option on your plate first. That way you are filling up on the good stuff first! I started doing this recently and I have really saw a difference in the way I eat.

Check out the recipe below and let me know what you think. Also go over Gimme Some Oven. This was the recipe I used with some little tweaks of my own.

Until later my friends!

Smoked Chicken and Scalloped Potatoes

  • 3 tablespoons butter
  • 1 small white or yellow onion, peeled and thinly sliced
  • 4 large garlic cloves chopped
  • 3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup chicken or vegetable stock
  • 2 cups milk (skim)
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 teaspoons fresh thyme leaves, divided
  • 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg
  • 4 pounds potatoes
  • 1 pound smoked chicken or ham diced into cubes
  • 1 1/2 cups sharp low fat cheddar cheese
  • 1/2 cup parmesan

 

Pre-heat oven to 400 F. Heavily grease a 9×13 pan and set aside.Grab a large saute pan and melt 3 tablespoons of butter into it. Add the onions and let cook until translucent (about 5 minutes). Chop your garlic and add it to the onions. Cook for an additional 2 minutes. Add the flour to the onions and garlic and cook until it incorporates. Slowly add the milk and chicken stock to the mixture and bring to a boil. Remember to stir! Add the nutmeg, salt and pepper and thyme. Set aside.

Slice the potatoes and dice the smoked chicken or ham. Layer half of the potatoes first, then the ham and finally the cheese and sauce. Do this one more time and finish off with the cheese. Cover with foil and back for 30 minutes. Uncover and bake for an additonal 25-30 minutes until the potatoes are soft and the cheese is bubbly.

ENJOY!

 

Leave a Reply

