Zoodles

I love pasta. LOVE IT. However, pasta is not the healthiest option for me. Carbs in general are not healthy for me. I have been trying to come up with alternatives to unhealthy side dishes. My family loves pasta, mashed potatoes and rice and I honestly do too. My father texted me while I was at work one day and asked if he would like zoodles. I love that he always asks me if he would like something. He loves squash so I told him I didn’t see why not.

Oh, what are zoodles? They are zucchini noodles made with this awesome machine called a spiralizer You can eat them raw in a salad, or cook them and cover them in your favorite sauce. It doesn’t have a lot of carbs like pasta and its a vegetable so its so much better than traditional pasta. If  you don’t want to invest in a spiralizer you can always buy your zoodles at the store. More and more grocery stores are starting to sell them.

This week I made my first homemade zoodle meal and I had so much fun doing it! The zoodles were so easy to make and it took no time at all. I decided to take some garlic, and some tomatoes from my garden and I came up with a delicious dish. I even got my husband to try it and he didn’t hate it. Which is a total win in my book.

Zoodles with Tomatoes, Garlic and Parmesan

  • 2 zucchini squash
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 3 small plum tomatoes
  • 2 tablespoons butter (or olive oil)
  • Parmesan cheese to taste
  • Salt & Pepper

To Make the ZoodlesIMG_3205

Take your zucchini and cut the ends off of them. Attach them to your spiralizer and get to crankin! (there is a clip of me doing this on my Instragram account @aheartyjourney)

Sprinkle the zoodles with salt and let sit for a half of an hour. This is a really important step. You need to get the moisture out so you won’t have soggy noodles. Squeeze any extra water out of the zoodles before cooking.

Add the butter or olive oil to a skillet. Heat and then add the garlic and tomatoes. Cook until soft. Add the zoodles to the tomatoes and garlic and cook for an additional 5-10 minutes until cooked. Add some salt and pepper and some cheese and you are good to go! This can be used a side dish or if you are me and alone for the night a complete meal.

 

 

One thought on “Zoodles

Leave a Reply

