Happiness Project Week 2

I have never been a morning person.

Ever.

While I was in highschool I was a normal teenager who didn’t want to wake up in the morning. When I became an adult I was either working a 11-7 shift or a 6-2 shift and I could never get into a morning routine. Now that I have a ‘normal’ 9-5 job I thought it was about time to have some sort of morning routine instead of getting up 20 minutes before my alarm and rushing out the door. I have been doing this gradually for the past couple of months. Each two weeks I have been getting up 5 minutes early. SMALL STEPS FOLKS!! I know I need to get used to those 5 minutes before I could even think of doing more. Doing it this way allows me to better stick to something like this. My goal is to eventually be up at 6 am. That would give me roughly and hour and half before I head to work. It will give me some time to drink my tea, do my morning stretches and my favorite thing in the morning :: my affirmations. 

One of the things I have realized about myself is that I cannot enjoy things in the present moment. I am always thinking about the next thing I have to accomplish. I love sleep as much as the next person but I really do not need 10 hours of sleep. It’s completely unnecessary. 

The one app that I found really useful is CHILL. It gives me an inspirational quote every morning that I use for my affirmation. It also notifys me three times a day to be happy in the present moment. I was really reluctant about this at first but even using it for a week has changed my outlook on things. 

Small changes my friends. Make small changes so they are not overwhelming and you can stick with them. If you put too much on your plate there is now way you can keep it balanced. 

Leave a Reply

