Asian Salad with Chicken

Eating healthy is hard. Did I mention that already? I know what I need to eat, however it is so much easier to just grab some potato chips or cookies out of the pantry.

I am a firm believer in prepping. Sunday is my normal day when I prep my lunches for the week, make a batch of muffins for my breakfast and get my outfit ready for Monday. Yes, I am one of those people that need to get everything ready the night before.It drives my husband crazy.

Anyway… salads are a great thing to make for lunches. I make a huge bowl of salad and it will last me all week long. I add some fruit on the side and my water and I am good to go. However, salads are boring. You all know that is the truth don’t try to deny it.

This week I decided to go with an Asian salad and it was delicious. A little lettuce, some cabbage, scallions and carrots. Topped with cilantro almonds and a tangy dressing.I added some chicken to mine because I always lack protein and I need to learn to eat more. I wish I could give you a recipe for an Asian vinaigrette. I can’t. I bought my at the store because like I said before, and I say again, I AM LAZY.

This recipe is super easy and is a perfect prep meal for your week.

Asian Salad with ChickenIMG_2704

  • 2 heads of romain lettuce
  • 1 cup of nappa cabbage
  • 1 cup of red cabbage
  • 3 large carrots – chopped into matchsticks
  • 1 english cucumber- chopped into matchsticks
  • 3 scallions – chopped
  • 1/2 cup of cilantro (you can omit this if you think cilantro tastes like soap, I love the stuff)
  • 1/2 cup of sliced almonds
  • Dressing of your choice
  • Grilled chicken marinated in dressing
  1. Marinate 3-4 chicken breasts in dressing (I do mine overnight)
  2. Grill chicken until cooked all the way through. Please do not over cook your chicken!
  3. Slice and set aside.
  4. Mix all salad ingredients into a bowl. Do not add the chicken or dressing if you are prepping for the week. It will create a soggy mess. (I put my salad in a huge bowl, my dressing in a small container and my chicken in a container.)
  5. ENJOY!

What is your favorite lunch to take to work with you?

Leave a Reply

