Happiness Project

Did you ever start a book and then realize that you cannot appreciate it at that time so you stop reading it? My sister gave me The Happiness Project about three years ago and I can clearly remember reading it in the break room of my old job. I didn’t even get a quarter of the way through it before I realized that it just wasn’t for me, so I stopped.

With everything going on with my Dad I decided it was time that I change a few things. He has really inspired me to be all I can be and do things that make me happy. I know there are a lot of things in his life that he wishes he could change, and I do not want to be like that when I am his age. Another thing about me is that I am not the biggest fan of self-help books. While I was in therapy when I was a teenager that is all they wanted me to read. And I tried, I really did. I could never relate to them and I never finished them. I thought this time around I am older so maybe I should give them a try. I Googled “life changing books’ and The Happiness Project showed up on one of the lists. I am also lazy, so this worked out for me because I already had it.

This time around I could honestly relate to what Gretchen was saying. I am already pretty happy, but I could use a little more structure with my goals. The last time I tried to read this book I wasn’t in the best place in my life. I wasn’t ready to change. This time around however, I NEED to change. I always want to do too much and I want instant results. I really think creating my own Happiness Project is the way to go. For each month for one year I will give myself a list of goals to achieve. I will track them, most likely blog about them and reflect back to see how I am doing. My original thought was to start in July, but I think I need a little more planning to get everything just right.

If any of you are interested in starting your own Happiness Project I highly suggest reading her book. Or you can visit her website: Gretchen Rubin.

Leave a Reply

