Cookie Monster

The other day I am at work and I get a text message from my Dad. It reads:

Call me after work …

cookie emergency!

I have to be honest, I love these messages from him. They really make my day. It turns out that he is about to run out of the cookies I made him for Father’s Day and he wants me to make him more. I have to tell you, healthy cookies are hard to make. I mean think about, when you want a cookie you want something warm and buttery and sweet, preferably with a glass of milk. These types of cookies are not good for him AT ALL. I get my sweet tooth from him so I know where he is coming from.IMG_2612

So once again I go to Pinterest for inspiration. I can bake, but using healthy ingredients is completely foreign to me. I found a peanut butter cookie that looked promising. It had a little too much sugar, and I substituted the butter for coconut oil and I came up with a pretty yummy cookie. He loved them which made me a very happy daughter.

It’s moments like these; sharing cookie recipes with my Dad that just makes my heart happy. I love seeing a smile on his face from something that he enjoys and that is also good for him. I know this diet thing sucks for him. If I have learned anything it is that eating healthy, is hard. You need to prep and research and plan. I really hope to change that. I hope one day this whole eating healthy thing becomes second nature to me. I can’t change my genetics but I sure as shit can change how I treat my body.

Chewy Peanut Butter Cookies
inspired by Amy’s Healthy Baking

  • 2 cups white whole wheat flour
  • 1 ½ tsp baking powder
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil, melted and cooled slightly
  • 2 large egg whites, room temperature
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 9 tbsp creamy peanut butter (I used generic natural pb for this)
  • 1 cup coconut or brown sugar

Preheat oven to 350
Combine the flour, baking powder, salt in a bowl
In a separate bowl combine the oil, egg whites, vanilla, peanut butter and sugar
Mix until just combined
Roll the dough into 24 balls and place on a cookie sheet (I used a fork to make a pretty design, they can also just be flattened to your desired thickness)
Bake for 9-11 minutes DO NOT OVER BAKE (I made this mistake for my first batch and they turned into bricks, they were still yummy but were not soft)
ENJOY!!!

Leave a Reply

