First Day of Summer

Happy first day of summer!

Every year I get so excited for this time. All the trees are in full bloom, my gardens are on their way to becoming full of vegetables that I can eat, and I am finally not cold anymore! I swear every house I have lived in retains the cold and I am freezing until the end of June. Don’t even get me started about my office at work. I am the only one walking around in sweaters!

IMG_2525Anyway, today I decided to do my blog entry outside on my back deck,enjoying a homemade iced skinny chai tea and a ‘healthy snack’. I am not so sure how exactly healthy it is, but to the girl that used to come home and eat a bunch of cookies and cheese anything has got to be better! I have some turkey pepperoni (has a little too much salt but everything else is good) a babybell cheese wheel and some baked chips. I was starving when I came home so I am pretty pleased that this is all that I have had to eat so far.

 

I hope everyone is having an awesome first day of summer! What are all of you up to?

I will leave you with my recipe for an iced skinny chai. I swear it will change your life, it is delicious without all the added sugar.

Skinny Iced Chai Tea – adapted from SKINNYMS

Chai Syrup

  • 2 cups water
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 4 black teabags
  • 2 teaspoons real vanilla extract
  • 1 cinnamon stick or 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1/2-inch piece ginger, cleaned and thinly sliced, or 2 teaspoons ginger powder
  • 4 cloves or 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cardamom
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg

Combine all of the above in a pot, bring to boil and let simmer for 30 minutes. Let cool on the counter for up to an hour (I left mine sit almost all day because I forgot about it! It is totally okay)Strain using a mini strainer and cheese cloth. Put in a mason jar or other container and keep refrigerated.

Mix chai syrup with your favorite milk (almond, skim, soy …) and add a couple of ice cubes and enjoy! I do not have a measurement for this, I just add the syrup until it gets to the flavor I like.

Leave a Reply

