Personal Journey

I have been thinking a lot about my personal journey.

I often find myself comparing my life to others. Why didn’t I go to college straight out of high school? Why am I stuck in a job that doesn’t satisfy me? There is a reason that I hate Facebook. I feel like everyone on Facebook lies. Okay that sounds a little harsh, but we only see what they want us to see. Their lives are probably not half as interesting as they make them out to be.

When I get into these moods of self doubt I have to really dig deep to pull myself out. I know I wasn’t ready for college at 18. I would have flunked out the first semester. I may not particularly like my job, but at least I have one and I make a pretty decent dollar. I have a nice place to live and a husband that supports everything that I do. A lot of people cannot say that.

When I first met my husband I couldn’t even eat a restaurant. I was afraid that everyone was looking at me and I would immediately start to have a panic attack. I couldn’t order a coffee at the local coffee shop, I couldn’t even pay for something myself. With a lot of hard work and patience from my husband I can do all of those things. I enjoy going to different places and talking to different people.  I wake up every day, go to work and come home. A small victory but something I thought I would never be able to accomplish.

It is the little victories in life that make it worth living. They may seem small to someone else, but to you they are great. This is my journey. I may not be where my “Facebook Friends” are but I am leaps and bounds ahead of where I ever thought I would be.

So I guess I am saying – enjoy your journey. Stop comparing yourself to everyone else. Life is too damn short to live for someone else or by someone else’s standards. Be proud of what you accomplished. It’s your journey. Own that shit. Be grateful for the things you have accomplished. Most of all, enjoy life. It will pass you in a blink of an eye and you never want to have to wonder “What if?”.

5 thoughts on “Personal Journey

Leave a Reply

